The Utah Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in UT, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing are listed below:
State Board Members
|Chad W. Price
|Cosmetology/Barber Intructor or School Rep|
|Christine Heathman||Master Esthetician|
|Julianne R. Young||Nail Technician Instructor or School Rep)|
|Sherri L. Steele||Nail Technician|
|Meagan Delange||Esthetician Instructor or Esthetics School Rep|
|Meredith Taylor||Public Member|
|Jackie Lynn McKay||Public Member|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Utah, check out the Utah Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Hair Designer
- Nail Technician
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Utah State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Esthetician Application||$60 ($85 for Master)|
|Hair Designer Application||$60|
|Nail Technician Application||$60|
|Cosmetology Trades Instructor Application||$60|
|Cosmetology Trades School Application||$100 (Hair Design School Only)|
|For All Other School Applications||$110|
Utah Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Utah by visiting secure.utah.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
It is important for you to complete all sections of the form so your complaint can be fully evaluated. If a particular section does not apply to your situation, simply write "N/A" (not applicable) in the space. By law, complaints concerning a violation of Utah's occupational and professional laws are not public information. DOPL can be contacted by phone at 801-530-6630. Office hours are Monday through Friday (except legal holidays) from 8am to 5pm MST. You can contact DOPL by e-mail at [email protected].
Please be advised that DOPL will not act as your attorney for purposes of settling, recovering monetary loss, or performing any other dispute resolution between you and any person whom you feel may have violated Utah's occupational and professional laws. Any person who has been damaged or lost money as the victim of a licensed or unlicensed professional should immediately contact his or her personal attorney about the possibility of resolving the dispute through negotiation or legal process.
Further, DOPL cannot perform investigations for the benefit of your personal litigation. However, your complaint is critical in that it informs DOPL of a possible violation of the occupational and professional laws. Once your complaint is reviewed, you will be notified regarding what action DOPL can take. There are 2 ways you can access the complaint form, both options are listed below:
If you decide to download the complaint form and fill it out manually, then once you have completed the form, please mail or fax it (along with any attachments) to:
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
As a reminder, if you need to contact the office by phone their number is 801-530-6630. You can fax your completed form to 801-530-6301.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Utah Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Utah State Board of Cosmetology phone number 801-530-6628 or 866-275-3675. Their fax number is 801-530-6511.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Utah state board online by going to dopl.utah.gov.