The Alabama Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in AL, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering are listed below:
State Board Members
|District I||Floyd McDonald||251-554-3527|
|District III||General Jackson||256-310-2609|
|District IV||Tracy White Smith||256-708-5315|
|District V||Kathy Linden||256-881-2818|
|District VI||Michelle Callahan-Alvis||205-789-8740|
|District VII||Shirlie Phan||469-237-8044|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Alabama, check out the Alabama Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Natural Hair Stylist
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Alabama State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Written Examination or Reexamination||Vendor Charge + $25 Admin Fee (Currently $75)|
|Practical Examination or Reexamination||Vendor Charge (Currently $120)|
|Restore From Inactive to Active||$80|
|Shio Name Change||$25|
|School Name Change||$25|
|Ownership/Controlling Interest Change||$25 + Current Financial Statement
New Owner or Controlling Stockholder
to Appear Before Board
|Apprentice Change Master, Salon or Both||$25|
|Shampoo Assistant Original/Renewal||$75|
|Duplicate License for Instructors||$25|
Alabama Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Alabama by visiting alboc.glsuite.us. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
The state board of cosmetology regulates the following:
- Class 2 barbers*
- Eye Brow Threaders
- Natural Hair Stylists
- Shops performing services regulated by this Board
- Private Schools teaching services regulated by this Board (Public Schools are regulated by the Alabama Department of Education)
*The occupation of shaving or trimming the beard, cutting or dressing the hair, giving facial or scalp massages, giving facial or scalp treatment with oils or creams or other preparations made for that purpose, either by hand or by means of mechanical appliances, singeing and shampooing the hair, dyeing the hair, or permanently waving or straightening the hair of any living or deceased person for compensation. What this board does not regulate:
- Class 1 barbers*
- People performing services regulated by other Boards such as messages, physicians and permanent makeup/tattoo
*Arranges, cleans, cuts, or singes the hair of any person or massages, cleans, stimulates, exercises, or does similar work on the scalp, face, or neck of any person with the hands, or with mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliance or by the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams. Any one or a combination of the following practices, when done upon the human body above the seventh cervical vertebra for cosmetic purposes and not for the treatment of disease or physical or mental ailments, and when done for payment, directly or indirectly or without payment for the public generally: shaving or trimming the beard or trimming the hair. The board has no jurisdiction over the following:
- Fees for services
- Contracts between students and schools
To file a complaint you will need to fill out their Complaint Form and send to their office explaining what happened. All complaints must be signed with your current mailing address and phone number on it. If this matter goes to a hearing, you are required to testify. They will not accept anonymous complaints. Alternatively, you can file a complaint with the state board by:
- Contact a private attorney
- Contact the Better Business Bureau
- Small Claims Court
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Alabama Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
If you need to address the Alabama State Board of Cosmetology, they require that you send your written request to the Board Office at least 5 days before the Board meeting is scheduled. Please include your name, contact number(s) and reason for addressing the Board. The meetings are held in the RSA Union Building, 100 North Union St., Room 300. All meeting times are at 10am.
- State Board Office Location
Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
RSA Union Building 100 North Union Street Suite 324
Montgomery, AL 36130
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Alabama State Board of Cosmetology phone number 800-815-7453 or 334-242-1918. Their fax number is 334-242-1926.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Alabama state board online by going to www.aboc.state.al.us.