The Delaware Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in DE, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering are listed below:
State Board Members
|Derrick Reed||President||New Castle County|
|Kathleen Sherwin||Public Member
|New Castle County|
|Gina Marsilii||Secretary||New Castle County|
|Gregory Meyers||-||Sussex County|
|Domonique Vicks||-||Kent County|
|Tien Le||-||Kent County|
|Hillary Reid||-||Sussex County|
|Sherry Wilkins||Public Member||Kent County|
|Vic Kennedy||Public Member||Kent County|
|Jeffrey Benson, Jr.||Public Member||Sussex County|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Delaware, check out the Delaware Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Nail Technician
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Delaware State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|License||Initial Application||Reinstatement (4 years or less)||Reinstatement (Over 4 years)|
|Apprentice (All Types)||$40|
|Temporary Permit (All Types)||$40|
|Cosmetology/Barbering Establishment (Shop)||$116|
Delaware Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Delaware by visiting dpronline.delaware.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
You may file a complaint with the Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) against a person or business that holds a professional license if you believe that the person has violated the law or rules of his or her profession or the business has violated the law or rules of its profession.
You may also file a complaint against an unlicensed person who is practicing a profession that requires a professional license or against a business that is operating without the required professional license. To find out if the person or facility holds a professional license, visit Search & Verify Professional License.
Note that DPR cannot investigate complaints that solely concern billing or insurance issues. You may wish to file billing complaints with the Department of Justice Consumer Protection Division or insurance complaints with the Department of Insurance.
To start the processing filing a complete, you need to complete the Statement of Complaint form. Please follow the instructions on the form to ensure that DPR's Investigative Unit receives all the information it needs to start an investigation. Each complaint must state the name and contact information of the person filing the complaint. This person is called the complainant. This means that they cannot accept anonymous complaints. However, when appropriate, DPR may keep the complainant's name confidential. DPR will make the determination based on the information submitted in the complaint.
Each complaint must state the name and location of the person or business the complaint is against. This person or business is called the respondent. If you need to discuss your complaint with an investigator before submitting it, then call 302-744-4500 and ask to speak to an investigator.After You Submit Your Complaint
When they receive a complaint, DPR sends the following within 15 days of receiving the complaint (one week if the complaint is about a licensee of the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline):
- Letter to the complainant to acknowledge receiving the complaint
- Complaint information to the respondent
- When appropriate, DPR may keep the complainant's name confidential in the information sent to the respondent
The respondent may file an answer to the complaint within 20 calendar days of receiving the complaint. DPR will advise you of the progress of your complaint at least every 90 days until it is resolved. To find out the status of your complaint during the complaint process, you can call 302-744-4500 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Or, you may contact the investigator assigned to your complaint by clicking here.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Delaware Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
861 Silver Lake Blvd. Suite 203
Dover, DE 19904
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Delaware State Board of Cosmetology phone number 302-744-4500. Their fax number is 302-739-2711.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Delaware state board online by going to dpr.delaware.gov.