The Maine Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in ME, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Position Phone

Jessica Beck

Office Specialist II 207-624-8579

Jessica Gowell

Professional Licensing Supervisor 207-624-8651

Meagan Damon

Sr. Consumer Assistant Specialist 207-624-8621

Mary Ackerson

Sr. Compliance Inspector 207-592-3666

Geraldine L. Betts

Administrator 207-624-8625

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Maine, check out the Maine Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Aesthetician
  • Barber
  • Booth
  • Limited Barber
  • Cosmetology
  • Demonstrator
  • Nail Technology
  • Establishment/Shop
  • Trainee - Aesthetician, Barber, Cosmetologist, or Nail Technician
  • Temporary - Aesthetician, Barber, Cosmetologist, or Nail Technician
  • Instructor - Aesthetician, Barber, Cosmetologist, or Nail Technician
  • Schools - Aesthetician, Barber, Cosmetologist, or Nail Technician

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Maine State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Individual License Timeframe Fee
Individual 1 year $20
Cosmetologist 1 year $20
Barber 1 year $20
Limited Barber 1 year $20
Manicurist 1 year $20
Aesthetician 1 year $20
Instructor 1 year $20
Demonstrator 1 year $20
Trainee (all categories, limited to two renewals) 1 year $10
Temporary Work Permit (non renewable) 6 months $10
Examination n/a 3rd party
Businesses Other Than Schools Timeframe Fee
Establishment* 1 year $20
Booth* 1 year $20
Mobile Shop* 1 year $20
*Separate license fee also payable upon change of location or change of ownership
Special Inspection n/a $100
Re-issuance of shop license after ownership change resulting from death or divorce of an owner when at least one owner retains ownership n/a $10
Special event services permit - Per licensee for each event n/a - Permit ends with each event $10
Schools Timeframe Fee
School* 1 year $500
Branch School* 1 year $500
Off-site (satellite) classroom* 1 year $100
*Separate license fee also payable upon change of location or change of ownership
On-site evaluation n/a n/a
All Categories Timeframe Fee
Late Renewal - More than 90 day n/a $25

Maine Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Maine by visiting www.pfr.maine.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

The purpose of the licensing system is to protect the public against:

  • Dishonest or unethical practitioners
  • Practitioners who have fallen below minimum standards of competence in the practice of their profession

Violators are subject to disciplinary action that can range from a formal warning to revocation of a license. Disciplinary action is taken by the board that licensed the practitioner. Administrative support of the complaint process is provided by OPOR. The OPOR complaint coordinator is also the contact person for assistance and information relating to the complaint process. You can reach Complaints Division at:

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
207-624-8696
[email protected]

Document Exchange

After the complaint is docketed, the complaint coordinator acknowledges receipt of the complaint and sends a copy to the licensee. The licensee is asked to respond within 33 days. Upon receipt of the licensee's response, a copy is sent to the complainant. The complainant is asked to reply within 15 days, but a reply is not mandatory. The complainant's reply, like the original complaint, is shared with the licensee.

If the complaint is filed against a health care professional, a release form will be sent for the complainant to sign. A health care professional's time to respond is ordinarily postponed until the release has been received.

Investigation

Copies of the complaint, the licensee's response, and the complainant's reply are sent to the board's complaint committee. Generally, the complaint committee consists of 1 board member who serves as complaint officer, the OPOR administrator of the board, the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the board, and frequently, an OPOR investigator. The complaint committee may investigate the complaint beyond the document exchange described above. The complainant, the licensee, or other persons with information pertinent to the complainant may be contacted by a member of the complaint committee as part of this investigation.

To file a complaint online, use the Electronic Complaint Form. Enter your complaint information and press the submit button located at the bottom of the form. If you do not have internet access, you may request paper forms from the complaint coordinator. If the person complained against is a trade licensee (i.e., electrician, plumber, oil burner technician, propane/natural gas technician or boiler operator), the complaint is routed to the chief inspector for the applicable board. Complaints against non-trade licensees are docketed and assigned a complaint number.

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Maine Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Maine Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing
    35 State House Station
    Augusta, ME 04333

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Maine State Board of Cosmetology phone number 207-624-8579 (TTY: Relay 711). Their fax number is 207-624-8637.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Maine state board online by going to www.maine.gov.