The Colorado Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in CO, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure are listed below:
State Board Members
|Chelsie Kiesel||Hairstylist||Commerce City|
|Tammy A. Dorenkamp||Cosmetologist/Educator||Lamar|
|Peggy Sue Schmoldt||Cosmetologist/Educator||Denver|
|Tahl N. Humes, D.O.||Public Member||Denver|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Colorado, check out the Colorado Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Hair Stylist
- Nail Technician
- Shop Registration
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Colorado State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Practical Examination (Retake)||$66|
|Written Examination (Retake)||$51|
|Licensure Fees (Barbers, Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Hairstylists, Manicurists)|
|License by Endorsement||$75|
|Renewal (2 year)||$40|
|Late Fee (For renewals after the expiration date)||$15|
Colorado Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Colorado by visiting apps.colorado.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
Before Filing a Complaint Online
Before filing a complaint, be sure to register an account with Online Services. The benefits of registering include:
- Making it easier for the board or program to contact you if they have important follow-up questions
- Allowing you to track the progress of your complaint
- Showing you the history and status of any and all complaints you have ever submitted
File a complaint online now with Online Services. Online complaints are the most efficient way to guarantee all necessary information is submitted. If you would still like to submit a hard copy complaint, click here to get a copy of the complaint form document.
Although anonymous complaints are accepted, they encourage you to register an account or provide your contact information to help them thoroughly address the complaint. If they don't have enough information, the board or program may have to drop the complaint since they can't contact you for further information.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Colorado Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
1560 Broadway Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Colorado State Board of Cosmetology phone number 303-894-7800. Their fax number is 303-894-0364.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Colorado state board online by going to www.colorado.gov.