The Massachusetts Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in MA, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering are listed below:
State Board Members
Michael A. Gayagian
Jesus B. Nunez
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Massachusetts, check out the Massachusetts Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Massachusetts State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Board Code||Type Class||License Type||Renewal Fee||Renewal Time||Renewal Frequency|
|BR||1||Barber Instructor||$84||31-Dec||Annual (1 year)|
|BR||A||Apprentice Barber||$40||31-Dec/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|BR||M||Master Barber||$78||31-Dec/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|ET||1||Registered Electrologist||$78||31-Jul/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|ET||2||Registered Electrologist/Lecturer||$52||31-Jul/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|ET||3||Registered Electrology Instructor||$52||31-Jul/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||1||Registered Cosmetologist||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||2||Registered Operator||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||3||Registered Manicurist||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||4||Registered Instructor||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||5||Registered Demonstrator||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||6||Registered Aesthetician I||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||7||Registered Aesthetician II||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|HD||8||Aesthetician Instructor||$68||Birthday||Biennial (2 years)|
|BS||1||Barber School||$225||31-Dec||Annual (1 year)|
|BS||S||Barber Shop||$78||31-Jun/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|ET||4||Registered Electrology School||$130||31-Jul/Odd Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||1||Cosmetology Salon||$82||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||2||Booth Shop||$82||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||3||Manicuring Shop||$82||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||4||Booth Renter||$82||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||5||Aesthetic Shop||$82||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||9||Cosmetology School||$338||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||10||Aesthetician School||$338||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||11||Advanced Training Institute||$338||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
|HS||12||Registered Manicuring School||$338||31-Dec/Even Year||Biennial (2 years)|
The following fees apply to all Boards of Registration:
|Late Renewal Fee||$57||Per license renewal (Fee is in addition to renewal fee if renewal is received beyond license expiration date)|
|Certified Statement of Registration
|Duplicate License||$17||Per license|
|Name Chang||$27||Per license|
|Wall Certificate||$27||Per certificate|
|Duplicate Wall Certificate of Registration||$27||Per certificate|
|Handling Charge for Returned Checks||$23||Per check|
|Public Information CD-ROM||$30||Per item in the form|
|EPAY Online Payment Return Fee||$23||Per returned transaction, including returns for insufficient funds, wrong account number, etc|
Massachusetts Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Massachusetts by visiting www.mass.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
While the majority of licensees conduct themselves as true professionals, the Division of Professional Licensure will take action against those who fail to maintain acceptable standards of competence and integrity. In many cases, complaints are made by dissatisfied consumers - but, dissatisfaction alone is not proof of incompetence or sufficient grounds for disciplinary action.
If you have a serious complaint against a licensed hairdresser, manicurist, aesthetician, or licensed salon, call or write the Division's Office of Investigations and ask for a complaint form. Or download a copy of the complaint form.
Division of Professional Licensure
Office of Investigations
1000 Washington Street Suite 710
Boston, Mass. 02118
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Massachusetts Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
1000 Washington Street 7th Floor
Boston, MA 02118
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology phone number 617-727-9940. Their fax number is 617-727-1627.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Massachusetts state board online by going to www.mass.gov.