The Alaska Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in AK, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Area Location
Michelle Black Hairdresser Wasilla
Willie Canady Hairdresser/Esthetician Anchorage
Vershawn Idom Barber Anchorage
Jennifer Lombardo Industry Licensee Anchorage
Kevin McKinley Tattooist/Body
Cosmetic Colorist
Michelle McMullin Nail Technician Anchorage
Terriann Shell Public Big Lake

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Alaska, check out the Alaska Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Barber
  • Esthetician (skin care)
  • Hairdresser
  • Instructor
  • School/School Owner
  • Shop Owner
  • Student
  • Nail Technician
  • Nail Technician Instructor
  • Body Piercing
  • Tattooing
  • Permanent Cosmetic Coloring

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Alaska State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Application Fees
Initial License $150
Courtesy License $80
Temporary Permit $100
  • Student
  • Student
  • Instructor Permit or
  • Apprenticeship
1 year: $100
2 years: $125
  • Barber
  • Hairdresser
  • Esthetician
  • Advanced Manicurist or
  • Instructor Written Exam
  • Barber
  • Hairdresser
  • Esthetician or
  • Instructor Practical Exam
Temporary License $100
Written examination for:
  • Practitioners of Body Piercing or
  • Practitioners of Tattooing and
  • Permanent Cosmetic Coloring
Temporary Shop License $100
Courtesy License for:
  • Practitioners of Hairdressing
  • Body Piercing or
  • Practitioners of Tattooing and
  • Permanent Cosmetic Coloring
Advanced Manicurist Endorsement 1 time $20
Initial Biennial License Period
Barber/Hairdresser $180
Esthetician $180
Instructor $260
Shop Owner $260
School/School Owner Combined $660
Manicurist $180
Practitioner of Tattooing/Permanent Cosmetic Coloring $180
Practitioner of Body Piercing $180
Biennial License Renewal
Barber or Hairdresser $180
Esthetician $180
Instructor $260
Shop Owner $260
School/School Owner Combined $660
Manicurist/Advanced Manicurist Endorsement $180

Alaska Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Alaska by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

The Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing/Investigation Unit investigates matters pertaining to business licenses, the sale of tobacco products, and licensed professionals. For more information on what this Division may assist you with pertaining to business licenses and licensed professionals see below.

Professional Licensing

To see if someone is professionally licensed or if an existing licensee has disciplinary action, you can use the Professional License Search. If you would like to file a complaint against a licensed or unlicensed professional, please check the list of regulated professions to ensure the complaint falls within the jurisdiction of this Division's Investigation Unit. You may need to contact a different agency if your complaint is not under the jurisdiction of this Division. Please be aware that not all issues will fall within the jurisdiction of this Division and you may want to contact other agencies for assistance. For more information on how to file a complaint with this Division's Investigation Unit go to Investigations.

To initiate a complaint against a business or professional, and to see if your complaint falls within their jurisdiction, fill out a request for contact form and submit it to their Investigation Section.

Click here to download the Request for Contact Form

State of Alaska/DCCED
Investigations Section
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
Phone: 907-269-8437
Fax: 907-269-8195

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Alaska Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

There is another Alaska state board of cosmetology office located in Anchorage. The contact information is below:

550 W 7th Ave Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
Phone: 907-269-8160
Fax: 907-269-8156

  • State Board Office Location
  • Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
    333 Willoughby Ave 9th Floor
    Juneau, AK 99801

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Alaska State Board of Cosmetology phone number 907-465-2550. Their fax number is 907-465-2974.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Alaska state board online by going to