The Nebraska Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in NE, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Phone Position
Bridget S. Anderson
402-476-1021 Public Member
Sandra Kay Christie 402-483-4754 Salon Owner Member
Vicki R. Criswell
402-613-4144 Esthetician Member
Lyra J. Faltys 402-986-1377 Cosmetologist Member
Jacqueline J. Hornig 402-697-2398 Ext: 6 School Owner Member
Melanie M. Judkins 402-885-8282 Chairperson
Ruth J. Lucas 308-340-1093 Cosmetology Instructor Member
Marie F. Nordboe 402-721-1328 Cosmetologist Member
Becky J. Pettigrew 402-376-3339 Nail Technician Member
Pamela A. Rowlandor - Nail Technology Instructor

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Nebraska, check out the Nebraska Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Electrologist
  • Nail Technician
  • Cosmetologist
  • Cosmetology Instructor
  • Esthetician
  • Esthetic Instructor
  • Temporary License

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Nebraska State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Profession/Occupation/Business Initial Renewal Other Credentialing Fees
(If Any)
Body Art
Body Brander $95 $118 -
Body Piercer $95 $118 -
Guest Body Artist, Registered $30 n/a -
Permanent Color Technician $95 $118 -
Tattoo Artist $95 $118 -
Cosmetician, Registered $95 - -
Cosmetologist $95 $118 Cost of examination
Temporary $25 n/a -
Cosmetology Instructor $50 $50 Cost of examination
Temporary $25 n/a -
Guest Artist, Registered $30 n/a -
Cosmetology Establishments
Apprentice Salon $300 $300 $50 for reinspection if required
Cosmetic Establishment $150 $150 $50 for reinspection if required
Cosmetology Salon $150 $150 $50 for reinspection if required
Home Service Permit $118 $118 $50 for reinspection if required
School of Cosmetology $300 $300 $150 to transfer location within county
Satellite Classroom $200 $200 $50 for reinspection if required
Electrology     $30 for continuing competency programs
Electrologist $95 $118 Cost of examination
Electrology Instructor $50 $50 Cost of examination
Esthetics     $30 for continuing competency programs; May include program in cosmetology and or nail technology
Esthetician $95 $118 Cost of examination
Esthetics Instructor $50 $50 Cost of examination
Esthetics Salon $150 $150 $50 for reinspection if required
School of Esthetics $300 $300 $50 for reinspection if required; $300 to transfer location within county
Apprentice Salon $300 $300 $50 for reinspection if required
Nail Technology     $30 for continuing competency programs; May include program in cosmetology and/or esthetics
Nail Technician $95 $118 Cost of examination
Nail Technology Instructor $50 $50 Cost of examination
Nail Technology Salon $150 $150 $50 for reinspection if required
Nail Technology School $300 $300 $50 for reinspection if required; $300 to transfer location within county

Nebraska Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Nebraska by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

If you have a concern about a health care facility or a service provider, please bring your concern to the attention of the facility administrator or supervisor. Allow them time to address your concerns. If you are unable to bring your concerns to the administrator or supervisor's attention, or if they do not respond, then contact the DHHS Licensure Unit. The Licensure Unit may conduct an investigation or refer you to the appropriate agency. Your complaint shall be kept confidential. An investigation will be unannounced and may include:

  • Review of facility records
  • Review of resident/patient/client records
  • Interviews of residents/patients/clients, staff and or family members
  • Observation of care provided to residents/patients/clients
  • Observation of the provider’s environment

Please file your complaint regarding a Health Care Facility or Service or Medication Aide or Nurse Aide by one of the following methods:

  • Complete the online Complaint Form and submit electronically
  • Adult Protective Services 800-652-1999
  • Call the complaint intake line at 402-471-0316 Hours: M-F 8am to 5pm CS
  • Fax the complaint to 402-471-1679
  • Mail the complaint to:

Health Facility Investigations
Licensure Unit- DHHS
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986

If your complaint concerns a licensed professional, not a facility, service or Medication Aide or Nurse Aide, then the Department of Health & Human Services, Division of Public Health Investigations is responsible for investigating complaints against health care professions and occupations, welfare fraud, and evaluation reviews. For general information, contact the division at 402-471-0175. Or you can complete the complaint form and submit it to:

DHHS Division of Public Health Investigations
1033 O Street, Suite 500
Lincoln NE 68508

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Nebraska Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
    301 Centennial Mall South 1st Floor
    Lincoln, NE 68509

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology phone number 402-471-2115. Their fax number is 402-471-3577.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Nebraska state board online by going to