This page provides information for Nebraska license requirements including how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one, reactivate an expired license and Nebraska license reciprocity for when you need to transfer a license to this state or out of state. If available, we provide other useful information such as cosmetology school hours requirements, how to apply for additional license for professions like manicurists, nail technicians, instructors etc. If you did not find the answer you were looking for on this page or if you have questions or issues pertaining to cosmetology, then we recommend you contact the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.

Nebraska Cosmetology License Verification

If you need to verify a license for a salon or person, then you can do so by visiting the Nebraska Board of Cosmetology license verification website. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

You do not need a Nebraska license to do:

  • Airbrush tanning
  • Apply makeup
  • Pierce earlobes
  • Manicure or pedicure the natural nail
  • Braid natural hair
  • Threading to remove hair
  • Sale of cosmetics or beauty/nail products

Nebraska License Requirements

Chapter 36: Regulations Governing the Practice of Cosmetology and Esthetics Statutes Relating to Cosmeticians, Cosmetology, Esthetics. Please review the application instructions carefully as they provide additional information relating to the requirements to obtain a license.

Cosmetology/Esthetics
  • Is at least 17 years old
  • Graduated from high school or equivalent (GED)
  • Passed the NIC written examination (English version)
  • Graduated from a school of cosmetology, school of esthetics or an apprentice salon
  • Cosmetology: 2100 hours and 2000 credits
  • Esthetician: 600 hours and 600 credits
Instructor
  • If applying for cosmetology instructor license, must be currently licensed as a Nebraska cosmetologist. If applying for an esthetic instructor license, must be currently licensed as a Nebraska esthetician
  • Graduated from an Instructor program in a school of cosmetology or school of esthetics -925 hours beyond the program of cosmetology/esthetics
Foreign Trained
  • Is at least 17 years old
  • Graduated from high school or equivalent (GED)
  • Passed the NIC written examination (English version)
  • Current license/official recognition showing the right to practice in a foreign country or at least
  • 5 years of practice within the 8 years immediately prior to making application

Below is a list of applications you can dowload:

Cosmetology/Esthetic Applications License By Reciprocity (licensed in another state) Instructor Applications Temporary License Application

Nebraska Cosmetology School Hours

Type Requirements
Cosmetologist License 2100 Hours
Barber License Contact The Board Of Barbering
Esthetician License 600 Hours
Nail Technician License 300 Hours
Electrologist License 600 Hours
Permanent Makeup License 4 Hours
Cosmetology Instructor License Cosmetology License + 925 Hours
Massage Therapist License 1000 Hours

Nebraska National Examination

In Nebraska, applicants for an initial license are required to take the NIC written examination which satisfies both written and practical examination requirements (there is NO hands-on practical exam). PSI will administer the computer-based examination at sites in Nebraska as well as other locations throughout the US. To apply for the examination, you must submit to the Department a complete license application.

When the department accepts your application, they will send you an authorization letter advising that you are eligible to take the examination and will provide the PSI phone number and web site address to register. Nebraska requires the test to be administered in English. For additional information, you may download a Candidate Information Bulletin regarding payment procedures, scheduling process, cancellation policy, examination locations, etc. at www.psiexams.com.

Results: You will be given same-day results, however, the testing company will send an official score report to the Department. Within 5-10 days from receipt of the official score report, the Department will notify applicants of licensure or denial.

Re-Testing: Applicants who are not successful in passing the examination may retake the exam using their current Authorization letter until it expires. The applicant will be required to pay the examination fee for the computer-based examination each time the test is taken.

Jurisprudence Examination: This examination is a free open book examination and is 50 multiple-choice questions relating to cosmetology or esthetic practice. The jurisprudence examination may be taken as continuing education or as one of the conditions of probation if you were issued a probationary license by this office. The passing score on this examination is 75%. Those passing the exam will receive a certificate of completion.

Nebraska Renewal Requirements and Continuing Education

Renewal Dates and Number of CE Hours
Type Renewal Dates CE Hours
Cosmetologist 12/31/even years 8
Cosmetology Instructor
Instructors must complete at least 4 hours of teaching methodology classes; all 8 hours may be obtained through these hours.
12/31/even years 8
Cosmetology Salon 09/30/odd years No CE
Cosmetology School 12/31/even years No CE
Esthetician 09/30/even years 8
Esthetic Instructor
Instructors must complete at least 4 hours of teaching methodology classes; all 8 hours may be obtained through these hours.
9/30/even years 8
Requirements

Chapter 36 Sets out the requirements for Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Salons and Schools

Listing of Approved Continuing Education Programs Online Jurisprudence Examination


Nebraska offers a free online examination that counts for 2 hours of continuing education. The web address is http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/6GRS3CX

Applications to Request Continuing Education Program Approval

Nebraska Cosmetology and Esthetics Reinstatement

To reinstate from either inactive or expired status, you must:

  • Meet the continuing education requirement (8 hours) earned within the prior 24 months
  • Submit a complete reinstatement application and renewal/reinstatement fees as listed on the reinstatement application. Hours taken to reinstate your license can also be used to renew your license at the end of that renewal period so you are not required to have additional hours for renewal
Links to the Application forms: Salons and Schools

Salons and Schools cannot reinstate a license that has expired. Submission and approval of a new complete application is required before the business may operate.

Nebraska Salon Applications and Requirements

Please review the application instructions carefully as they provide additional information relating to the requirements to obtain a license. Nebraska does not allow mobile salons.

Cosmetology/Esthetic Salons
  • Be a fixed permanent structure
  • 150 square feet of floor space for 1 licensee and an additional 50 square feet for each additional licensee in the salon at the same time
  • Physically separated from all other business or residential activities (except barbering, manicuring, pedicuring, and retail sales) by at least 6 foot fixed walls or partitions
  • Include toilet facilities unless the salon is located in a commercial building in which public toilet facilities are available that open directly off of a public area
  • Meet all state or local building code and fire code requirements
  • Must have minimal property damage, bodily injury, and liability insurance coverage
  • If a salon is located in a home, it must be entirely separate from any living quarters, except that there may be one connecting door to the living portion of the dwelling as an access entrance to the salon for the owner or operator, but such entrance cannot be used by the general public
  • Additionally, the salon must have a restroom within the salon for salon use only

All services (cosmetology, nail, and esthetic) can be provided under the same establishment license as a separate license is not required for each type of service. Massage therapy services can also be provided under a cosmetology salon license without obtaining a separate establishment license.

Cosmetology/Esthetic Salon Applications License Requirements Sanitation Requirements
  • Chapter 34 Sanitation and Safety Relating to Nail Technology Services
  • Chapter 43 Sanitation and Safety Relating to Cosmetology and Esthetics Services

Nebraska School Applications and Requirements

Please review the application instructions carefully as they provide additional information relating to the requirements to obtain a license.

School of Cosmetology
  • Be a fixed permanent structure or part of one
  • Have a contracted enrollment of at least 15 full-time students
  • Have at least 3,500 square feet of floor space and facilities, staff, apparatus, and equipment appropriate to its projected enrollment
  • Not have the same entrance as or direct access to a cosmetology salon, esthetics salon, or nail technology salon

A school of cosmetology is not required to be licensed as a school of esthetics in order to provide an esthetics training program or as a school of nail technology in order to provide a nail technology training program.

School of Esthetics
  • Be a fixed permanent structure or part of one
  • Have a contracted enrollment of at least 4 but not more than 6 students for each licensed esthetic instructor on the staff
  • Have at least 1,000 square feet of floor space and facilities, staff, apparatus, and equipment appropriate to its projected enrollment
  • Not have the same entrance as or direct access to a cosmetology salon, an esthetics salon, or a nail technology salon

For applications, please contact the department for further information.

Requirements

Sanitation Requirements
  • Chapter 34 Sanitation and Safety Relating to Nail Technology Services
  • Chapter 43 Sanitation and Safety Relating to Cosmetology and Esthetics Services

Nebraska License Certification and Verification Information

Certification and Verification information can obtained online using their License Information System. To request a certification or verification of your license be sent directly to another state licensing agency, send a written request to their office (address is below) and include the following:

  • Your full name as it appears on your license
  • Your profession
  • The address to send the certification or verification to and
  • The proper fee - check or money order made payable to DHHS - Licensure Unit
  • Nebraska Nurse Aides do not pay a fee for certification or verification of their registry status
Certification Fee - $25

Certification includes:

  • Name
  • Profession
  • License number
  • Issuance date
  • Expiration date
  • Whether the license was granted by examination, waiver, or reciprocity
  • Examination information, if available
  • Any disciplinary action taken against the license with the type(s) and date(s) of the action if applicable
  • Seal of the State of Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services
Verification Fee - $5

Verification includes:

  • Name
  • Profession
  • License Number
  • Expiration Date
  • Department Staff Signature

Verification does not include the Seal of the State of Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services, nor information relating to discipline, school, or examination. Please mail your certification or verification request with the above-requested information and fee to the Licensure Unit at:

DHHS Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit
Attn: [your profession] Licensing
PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

Name Change/Reissue Request

To request a name change on your license or a reissue request, click here. A photocopy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, annulment papers, adoption papers, or a court order will be required to verify a name change has occurred.

Who may apply for a Temporary License?

‚ÄčNebraska graduates who have submitted a complete examination application and have not taken their examination for the first time are eligible to apply for a temporary license.

My salon license has expired. How do I reinstate it?

‚ÄčExpired salon licenses cannot be reinstated. You must apply for a new license by submitting a new application, sketch of the premises, insurance verification, and the fee of $150.

What must be done when a salon is sold to a new owner?

‚ÄčThe new owner must submit a new application, sketch of the salon, liability insurance verification, and fee of $150.