The Mississippi Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in MS, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Mississippi, check out the Mississippi Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Mississippi State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Initial license/renewal for - cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist||$50|
|Instructor initial license/renewal||$80|
|Master Cosmetologists license/renewal||$70|
|Delinquent renewal penalty - cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig specialist and instructor||$50|
|Salon application and initial inspection||$85|
|Salon change of ownership or location, or both||$85|
|Salon delinquent renewal penalty||$50|
|Application and initial inspection for a new school||$300|
|New school reinspection||$100|
|School change of ownership||$300|
|School delinquent renewal penalty||$100|
|Penalty for insufficient fund checks||$20|
The State Board of Cosmetology may charge additional fees for services which the board deems appropriate to carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the cost of rendering the service.
Mississippi Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that over the phone by calling the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology at 601-359-1820 and requesting to see if their license is valid and if there are any disciplinary actions on record. The phone number is listed at the bottom of this page. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
One of the prime responsibilities of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology is the investigation of complaints alleging non-compliance with any of the Laws of the State of Mississippi, which govern the practice of cosmetology and related professions or the rules and regulations of the Board. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the board.
When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented to the Board, at which time the Board may dismiss the complaint if it is felt to be non-substantiate, or admonish the accused in writing, or initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing. To contact the Board of Cosmetology with a complaint or violation:
Email: [email protected]
Write Them At:
PO Box 55689,
Jackson, Mississippi 39296-5689
To download a copy of the Complaint Forms, click here.Violations
The Board has adopted a firm approach to violations of sanitation and licensing requirements. The goal of the board is not the discipline of licensees, but to identify and ultimately reduce the frequency of complaints and non-compliance items, and to offer the licensee an opportunity to correct that violation by responding to a Violation Citation. Failure to respond to the notice results in an Administrative Hearing, the consequence of which could be license suspension or revocation, or a fine.
If you have received a Violation Citation, and have questions regarding its disposition, you may contact the Board Office. For the rules relating to Violations, refer to Rule 110.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Mississippi Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology
239 N. Lamar Street Suite 301
Jackson, MS 39201
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology phone number 601-359-1820. Their fax number is 601-354-6639.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Mississippi state board online by going to www.msbc.ms.gov.