The Arkansas Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in AR, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
|Tracy Akard||Hot Springs Beauty College||501-7624-0203||Garland - 4|
State supported school rep
|Saline County Career Ctr.||501-539-2556||Saline - 2|
|Chrysalis Day Spa||501-520-5400||Garland - 4|
|-||479-677-2888||Madison - 3|
|Al's Family Hair Salon||870-636-8280||Quachita - 4|
|Hair Happenings||870-572-6311||Phillips - 1|
|Ann's Beauty Shop||870-792-8642||Crittenden - 1|
|Rejoyce Nails||501-744-0701||Pulaski - 2|
|Arkansas Beauty College||479-968-3075||Pope - 3|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Arkansas, check out the Arkansas Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Arkansas State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Enrollment into a Cosmetology School||$20 Per Enrollment|
|Examination||Practical is $65
Written is $60
|Renewal for a Practitioner||$50 Biennially|
|Reciprocity for a Practitioner||$150 1 Time Fee|
|New Establishment (New and relocated)||$150 1 Time Fee|
|Renewal of an Establishment||$100 Annually|
|New School||$1,500 1 Time Fee|
|Renewal of a School||$250 Annually|
|Change Name or Ownership of School||$500|
|Name or Ownership Change of an Establishment||$75 For One & $150 For Both|
|Duplicate license||$25 Per License|
|Certification of Board Records||$50 Per License|
|Reinstatement Fee Practitioner License||50% of proposed renewal fee|
|Reinstatement Fee Salon License||50% of proposed renewal fee|
|Reinstatement Fee School License||50% of proposed renewal fee|
|Lifetime license||$50 1 Time Fee|
|Hot Check Fee||$25 Service Charge + Applicable Bank Fees|
Arkansas Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that over the phone by calling the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology at 501-682-2168 and requesting to see if their license is valid and if there are any disciplinary actions on record. The phone number is listed at the bottom of this page. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
To file an electronic complaint please fill out the complaint form online. Once you filled out the form, click submit. Complaints are public information. By submitting a complaint, you may be required to testify to the violations witnessed. Please submit the complaint when complete or return the completed form to: Arkansas Department of Health, Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section, 4815 W. Markham, Slot 8, Little Rock, AR 72205 or call 501-682-2168.
Note: This information is available under Freedom of Information Act. Complaints are accepted anonymously if mailed to the above address.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Arkansas Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology
4815 W. Markham Street Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology phone number 501-682-2168. Their fax number is 501-682-5640.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Arkansas state board online by going to www.healthy.arkansas.gov.