The Arizona Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in AZ, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Area
Charlie Phan Nail Technician
Brandy Wells Public Member
Thomas Rough Cosmetologist - Secretary/Treasurer
Jenna Bentley Public Member
Karla Clodfelter Cosmetologist/Vice Chair
Gary Begley School Owner/Board Chair

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Arizona, check out the Arizona Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Cosmetologist
  • Nail technologist
  • Aesthetician
  • Cosmetology Instructor
  • Nail technology
  • Instructor
  • Aesthetician Instructor
  • Cosmetology Salon
  • Nail Technology Salon
  • Aesthetic Salon
  • Cosmetology School
  • Nail Technology School
  • Aesthetic School

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Arizona State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Topic Fee
Written examination $100
Practical examination $77
Personal First Initial $70
Personal Renewal $60.00 - 2 year renewal
(Can renew 60 days prior to renewal date)
Personal Delinquent $30
Personal Duplicate $20
Personal Reciprocity $140
Salon Initial $110
Salon Renewal $50
Salon Delinquent $80
Salon Duplicate $20
Schools Initial $600
Schools Renewal $500
Schools Delinquent $600
Note: Fees are nonrefundable

Arizona Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Arizona by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

Please complete the complaint form and return it to their office. Their ability to assist you will depend upon your giving them a complete and detailed statement including any representations made to you.

Mail or deliver your complaint to:
Arizona State Board of Cosmetology
1740 W Adams #4400
Phoenix AZ 85007

Upon receipt of your complaint, they will determine if your complaint comes under their authority. If it does, they will take such action as is possible under their statutory authority. If your complaint does no fall under their authority, they will refer you to the appropriate agency.

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Arizona Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Arizona State Board of Cosmetology
    1740 W Adams #4400
    Tempe, AZ 85007

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology phone number 480-784-4539. Their fax number is 480-784-4962.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Arizona state board online by going to