This page provides information for Arizona license requirements including how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one, reactivate an expired license and Arizona license reciprocity for when you need to transfer a license to this state or out of state. If available, we provide other useful information such as cosmetology school hours requirements, how to apply for additional license for professions like manicurists, nail technicians, instructors etc. If you did not find the answer you were looking for on this page or if you have questions or issues pertaining to cosmetology, then we recommend you contact the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology.
Arizona Cosmetology License Verification
If you need to verify a license for a salon or person, then you can do so by visiting the Arizona Board of Cosmetology license verification website. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Students can now pre-register with greater ease and faster results. To pre- register for examination, students must meet following statutory requirements. These hours below are not the hours a student are required to attend school. These hours are for only pre-registering for examination after they attended school.
- 1450 hours of Cosmetology training
- 500 hours of Aesthetic training
- 500 hours of Nail Technology training
- 500 hours of Cosmetology Instructor training
- 400 hours of Aesthetic Instructor training
- 250 hours of Nail Technology Instructor training
There is a new license type:
- Hairsyling: 1000 hours
- Hairstyling Instructor: 350 hours
- Hairstyling Salon
- Hairstyling School
- Please call the office for more information
For all instructions: The Board will not except work experience for schooling. Cosmetology, Nail Technology, Aesthetic, and Hairstyling Instructors are required to attend 350 hours. Submit proof of having 1 years work experience with a current license prior to attending school.How to Apply for Examinations
The first step to apply for an examination is to register online with Professional Credential Services, Inc. (PCS) to take the examination. You can register online by visiting www.pcshq.com. Once there following the steps below:
- Click "Applicants & Candidates"
- Click "Cosmetology & Barbering"
- Click "Arizona"
- Click "On type of Examination"
- Click "Create an account"
- Pay $177 by credit card to PCS for both the written & practical exam
The next step is to complete, sign and mail the examination application to the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology. To download the application, click here. The mailing address is:
Arizona State Board of Cosmetology
1740 W Adams #4400
Phoenix AZ 85007
Along with filling out the application and mailing it it:
- Attach a 2X2 passport photo
- Certification of Graduation (must be on School's Letterhead)
- Lawful presence to include supporting document that shows proof of presence in the US is authorized under the Federal Law
- Proof of High School Education & proof of age (16 years old) or Proof of age (over 18 years old)
- Pay the initial fee of $70 (money order only - non-refundable)
- Money Order must be paid to the "AZ BD of Cosmetology"
- For Student Instructor only: proof of current license & proof of work experience form
Once the board receives a complete examination packet, the board will notify PCS if qualified to take the exam. PCS will notify you by email of your practical examination date and give instructions on scheduling the written exam. If you do not qualify for the examination or more information is required, the Board will notify you by mail only. If you have questions, please contact Suzi or Mimi at 480-784-4539.
Arizona Cosmetology School Hours
|Cosmetologist License||1600 Hours|
|Barber License||1500 Hours|
|Esthetician License||600 Hours|
|Nail Technician License||600 Hours|
|Electrologist License||500 Hours|
|Cosmetology Instructor License||Cosmetology License For 1 Year + 650 Hours|
|Esthetician Instructor License||Esthetician License For 1 Year + 500 Hours|
|Nail Technology Instructor License||Nail Technician License For 1 Year + 350 Hours|
|Massage Therapist License||700 Hours|
You can either renew your license using their online system, or download the renewal license document, fill it out and mail it in. To make sure you renew on time with no risk of late fees, they recommend to do it on or 60 days prior to the renewal date. You can also renew your AZ cosmetology license in person, or over the phone by contacting Licensing at 480-784-4539. Their office location is below:
1740 W Adams Suite #4400
Phoenix AZ 85007
- Online Renewal - Click here to access the online renewal system
- Personal Renewal - Click here to download the document
- Salon Renewal - Click here to download the document
- School Renewal - Click here to download the document
A person is entitled to receive a cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician license if the person:
- Submits to the board an application for a cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician license on a form supplied by the board
- Submits satisfactory evidence of either the person is licensed in another state or country or the the person graduated from a school that offers a cosmetology, aesthetics or nail technology course substantially similar to the requirements of this state and passed the board approved cosmetology, aesthetician or nail technician examination
- Pays the prescribed fees
An applicant for an aesthetics, cosmetology, nail technology or instructor license by reciprocity shall submit the applicable fees required and all of the following to the Board:
- An application provided by the Board and signed by the applicant that contains the applicant's name, address, telephone number, gender, passport quality photo, Social Security number, and birth date. If previously licensed by the Board, the type of license, license number, license expiration date, and the name used on the license; and a statement of whether the applicant has ever had an aesthetics, cosmetology, nail technology, or instructor license suspended or revoked in any state or foreign country
- A certification of hours and proof of graduation or licensure in another state of the United States or a foreign country that shows the number of hours received in a school or the initial and final dates of licensure
Below is a list of important reminders:
- It is up too the candidate to make sure you have applied with PCS and AZ Board for examinations. If you do not complete either of the applications, you will not be scheduled for examinations
- Individuals must register with PCS under their full legal name as it appears on their government issue photo id card. All names must match
- Individuals should expect an ATT letter for the theory examination with 2 business days of Board's approval and an Admission Notice for the practical examination within 2- 5 business days of approval
- Practical Examination dates can not be rescheduled once assigned unless a rescheduling fee of $50 is paid
- Individuals who have not received emails within 5 business days of their Board approval should contact PCS to ensure they do not miss an examination. Always check junk/spam mail folder
- Any e-mail changes or name changes must be submitted to PCS via email to email@example.com. These changes can not be made over the phone
A person is entitled to receive a license to teach cosmetology, aesthetics, or nail technology in a school if the person does all of the following:
- Submits to the board an application for an instructor license on a form prescribed by the board
- Holds a diploma form a high school or its equivalent as prescribed by the board in its rules or submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least twenty three years of age
- Is a licensed cosmetologist, aesthetician or nail technician and either has practiced for at least one year, has passed the school examination and has received for a cosmetologist instructor, 650 hours, for an aesthetics instructor, 500 hours or for a nail technician instructor, 350 hours. Or has five years of licensed industry experience within ten years proceeding the application and meets requirements as prescribed by the board in its rules
- Passes the examination for an instructor license
- Pays the prescribed fees