This page provides information for North Dakota license requirements including how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one, reactivate an expired license and North Dakota license reciprocity for when you need to transfer a license to this state or out of state. If available, we provide other useful information such as cosmetology school hours requirements, how to apply for additional license for professions like manicurists, nail technicians, instructors etc. If you did not find the answer you were looking for on this page or if you have questions or issues pertaining to cosmetology, then we recommend you contact the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology.
North Dakota Cosmetology License Verification
If you need to verify a license for a salon or person, then you can do so by visiting the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology license verification website. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
North Dakota Licensing Requirements
|Type||Schoo Training Hours|
North Dakota Individual License Renewal
To renew your license online, click here. To download a copy of the application so you can fill it out and mail it in, click here. If you do not receive your license within 2 weeks of payment, please contact the board office.
North Dakota Salon License Renewal
To renew your salon license through their online system, click here. To download a copy of the application so you can fill it out and mail it in, click here. There is a $3 processing fee for renewing online. Please allow 1-2 weeks for processing. f you do NOT receive your license within 2 weeks of payment, please contact the board office.
North Dakota School License Renewal
To renew your school license online, click here.
North Dakota Cosmetology School Hours
|Cosmetologist License||1800 Hours|
|Barber License||1500 Hours (board Of Barber Examiners)|
|Esthetician License||600 Hours|
|Nail Technician License||350 Hours|
|Electrologist License||600 Hours|
|Cosmetology Instructor License||Cosmetology License + 1 Year Work Experience + 160 Hours|
|Massage Therapist License||750 Hours|
Transferring License to North Dakota
To apply for a North Dakota license, first you must submit the following documents for approval:
- Reciprocity application: Click here to download the application
- Copy of birth certificate or U.S. passport
- Copy of high school education or GED
- Copy of a current picture ID
- Work experience affidavit, if needed
- Proof of training. Must have successfully completed course curriculum hours in a Cosmetology School
- Proof of licensure. This must be completed by the State Board of Cosmetology where your current license is being held. Contact your State Board for a letter of certification and a copy of your state license requirements to be sent directly to the ND State Board of Cosmetology. A copy of your license is not proof of licensure.
The Board will not determine what procedures you qualify for until all documents are received. They will hold all paperwork until certification is received from the state where you hold a license. Once all information is received, the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology will contact you on what procedures you qualify for.
If approved for reciprocity, you will have to take and pass the North Dakota Laws, Rules & Regulations test ($60 payable to PSI Services), and pay the reciprocity fee of $105 plus the original license fee. The payment form will be mailed to you if you are approved. Applicants may schedule an examination with PSI Services at PSIExams.com or call 800-733-9267. Examination fees are payable to PSI services. You will receive results immediately following the examination. A Laws & Rules booklet is available at our office for a $15 fee. Please send your request and fee to their office and a booklet will be mailed to you.Name and Address Changes
A personal name or mailing address change must be submitted to the board office. Please click here to fill out the Name Change Form. Once completed, mail the form to their office. If you would like your name changed on your license, submit your request with a $10 fee.
North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology
4719 Shelburne St. Suite 1
Bismarck, ND 58503
All licenses expire on the thirty-first day of December in that year. The holder of an expired license, within one year from and after the date of its expiration, may obtain a license upon the payment of the late fee in addition to the current renewal fee. If a license is not renewed within one year from the date it expired, the applicant for reinstatement shall take and pass the examinations required of new applicants. This includes the hands on practical, laws and rules, and NIC theory examinations.Eyebrow threading, eyelash extensions, and hair braiding
These are all considered to be a part of Cosmetology services. Eyebrow threading and eyelash extensions may be performed by a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician in a licensed Salon. Hair braiding may only be performed by a licensed Cosmetologist in a licensed Salon.Footspas
Click here for health and safety information regarding footspas.Blood Exposure Procedure
Click here for Blood Exposure Procedure guidelines.Obtaining License Certifications
To receive certification of your North Dakota license, please click here to fill out the License Verification Form. Once completed, mail the form to their office with the fee of $20. If you have a verification form from a different state that needs to be completed, include that with your request. Please allow a minimum of two weeks for your request to be processed.Business Names of Salons or Booth Rentals
Business names of salons or booth rentals must be registered as a trade name with the Secretary of State. You may contact the Secretary of State's office at 701-328-4145. Additional information and forms are available at the North Dakota Secretary of State's website.