This page provides information for Louisiana license requirements including how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one, reactivate an expired license and Louisiana license reciprocity for when you need to transfer a license to this state or out of state. If available, we provide other useful information such as cosmetology school hours requirements, how to apply for additional license for professions like manicurists, nail technicians, instructors etc. If you did not find the answer you were looking for on this page or if you have questions or issues pertaining to cosmetology, then we recommend you contact the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology.

Louisiana Cosmetology License Verification

If you need to verify a license for a salon or person, then you can do so by visiting the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology license verification website. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Louisiana Initial License

If you have never held a license to practice as a cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist, you must meet the following requirements and apply for a license.

Cosmetologist:
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Have a satisfactorily completed 10th grade from an approved high school
  • 1500 hours in an approved cosmetology school cosmetologist curriculum
  • Passage of the required State Board examinations
  • Payment of proper fees
Esthetician:
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Have a satisfactorily completed 10th grade from an approved high school
  • 750 hours in an approved cosmetology school cosmetologist curriculum
  • Passage of the required State Board examinations
  • Payment of proper fees
Manicurist:
  • Be at least 16 years of age
  • Have a satisfactorily completed 10th grade from an approved high school
  • 500 hours in an approved cosmetology school cosmetologist curriculum
  • Passage of the required State Board examinations
  • Payment of proper fees

You can pay for Louisiana license renewal online by clicking here. If you are unable to pay online then you can submit payment by check or money order made payable to LSBC along with your blue/red renewal form. If you do not have your renewal form, click here. Print, fill out, and mail the license renewal form along with your payment.

Expired Louisiana License

If your license has been expired for less than 3 years (36 months) you must submit a copy of your license or the renewal portion along with the proper fee.

Expired 1 year $50 $25 license fee + $25 late fee
Expired 2 years $100 $25 license fee + $25 late fee
Restoration Exam Information

In accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 37:590, any cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician or instructor whose license has expired for a minimum of 3 years (36 months) is required to take an examination. The Board has elected to give a 25 question multiple-choice exam. The examination contains questions on general knowledge as well as subjects contained in the Administrative Rules Book. The exams are given on testing dates (usually Monday or Tuesday) between the hours of 9:30am and 1pm. Click here to download the restoration form. Once you fill out the form, they request you email it to [email protected].

Out of State License Reciprocity Application

Louisiana recognizes the cosmetology esthetician and manicurist licenses of all other states. Persons wishing to transfer into the state of Louisiana from any state in the US must fill out and return this application to the Louisiana State Board office.

  • Click here to download the Application for Reciprocity National Exam
  • Click here to download the Esthetician Reciprocity Application
  • Click here to download the Manicuring Reciprocity Application
  • Click here to download the Instructor Reciprocity Application
  • Click here to download the Cosmetology Reciprocity Application

Please fill out the NIC pre-registration application and mail back with reciprocity application.

Out of Country License Foreign Reciprocity Application

Persons wishing to transfer into the state of Louisiana from any place outside the US must fill out and return this application to the Louisiana State Board office.

Louisiana Affidavit Application

The affidavit application form must be completed and returned to their office in order for the Louisiana State Board to send Certification of hours to which ever state you would like to transfer to along with proof of identification. This form of identification must be a copy of the following:

  • A state issued driver's license or ID card

If you have any questions please contact their office. Once they have received this information, they will submit a copy of your records to the state which you requested them to be sent to. Your first Affidavit is free, for each additional requests the fee is $15 each. Please email the completed form to [email protected].

Louisiana Cosmetology School Hours

Type Requirements
Cosmetologist License 1500 Hours
Hair Design License 500 Hours
Barber License 1500 Hours - Call 225-925-1701
Nail Technician License 500 Hours
Esthetician License 750 Hours
Makeup Artist Permit 40 Hours
Cosmetology Instructor License 500 Hours + Cosmetology License
Permanent Makeup Artist License Call 504-219-4418
Electrologist License Call 225-763-3502
Massage Therapist License 500 Hours

Louisiana New Shop Salon Application

Any person wishing to open a shop/salon must fill out and return the New Shop Salon application to the Louisiana State Board Office.

Blood Spill Kit Notice

Due to recent difficulties in obtaining blood spill kits for all salons and schools, the Board has decided to allow the facilities regulated by the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology to choose one of the following options: The original kit listed in the memo of October 8, 1996:

  • Fluid shield mask
  • Latex gloves
  • Bleach
  • Disposable towels

Any other OSHA approved Blood Spill Kit, available at various beauty supply houses, office supply stores, and medical supply businesses The requirement took effect on January 1, 1997.

Louisiana Microdermabrasion Permit Information

In order to receive a microdermabrasion permit you must have a valid cosmetology, esthetics, or electrologist license. You must complete a manufactures training course prior to submitting application formicrodermabrasion permit. Please contact the manufacturer of the machine you will be using. They will offer you a training course and provide you with a certificate of completion once done. Please submit a copy of the manufacturers training course completion certificate, a copy of your cosmetology, esthetics or electrolgist license, the application for microdermabrasion permit, and a $25 fee.