The Louisiana Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in LA, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
|Frances Hand||District 6|
|William Michael Grayson||District 5|
|Edwin H. Neill III (Chairman)||District 1|
|James Williams||District 2|
|Melinda Tilley||District 3|
|Mella Brown||District 4|
|Deidre Delpit||At Large|
|Eliza Jill Hebert (Vice-Chairman)||At Large|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Louisiana, check out the Louisiana Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Louisiana State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Retake of any examination||$25|
|Cosmetologist - General||Fee|
|Beauty/Mobile Salon Shop||Fee|
|Initial inspection fee for salon, mobile salon, or booth rental||$25|
|Booth rental permit||$25|
|Student registration including In State Transfer||Fee|
|Resident||$10 upon entering the course|
|Nonresident||$10 upon entering the course|
|Initial certificate of registration for a school||Fee|
|Renewal of certificate of registration for a school||Fee|
|Failure to timely renew||$150|
|Other School Fees||Fee|
|Change of ownership notice||$50|
|Change of address notice||$100|
|Ofﬁcial certification of records||$15|
|Copy of booth rental contract form||$5|
Louisiana Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Louisiana by visiting www.lsbc.louisiana.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
The Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology regulates the standards of conduct for cosmetologists, estheticians, instructors and manicurist. The board reviews complaints against these licenses and, if necessary, take disciplinary action against those who have violated Louisiana laws, rules and regulations applicable to the cosmetology profession.
If you wish to file a complaint against a cosmetologist, a complaint form can be obtained by downloading the Complaint Form. You may also contact the office and request a complaint form be mailed to you. The complaint must be in writing and signed by the person filing the complaint. After the complaint is filed, it is reviewed and then handled internally, assigned for inspection or dismissed for a lack of jurisdiction. Due to the volume of complaints received in this office, the investigation of your complaint may take some time to complete. You can be assured that the investigation are impartial, fact-finding missions intent on determining the relevant facts.
You may download the laws and rules and regulations for this site. Disciplinary sanctions may involve a fine, probation suspension, revocation, and an order of cease and desist. Regardless of the outcome, you will be notified of the final action that is taken on your complaint.
Louisiana State Board Of Cosmetology
11622 Sunbelt Court
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Louisiana Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
11622 Sunbelt Court
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology phone number 866-257-7901 or 225-756-3404. Their fax number is 225-756-3410.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Louisiana state board online by going to www.lsbc.louisiana.gov.