The Nevada Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in NV, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
|Gwen Braimoh (President)||Cosmetologist|
|Bryan Baltazar (Vice-President)||Public Representative|
|Debra Ritchey (Secretary-Treasurer)||Cosmetologist|
|Tialutrell McCormick (Board Member)||Esthetician|
|Kai Stanton (Board Member)||Cosmetologist|
|Victoria Negrete (Board Member)||Cosmetologist|
|JoAnna Tran (Board Member)||Nail Technologist|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Nevada, check out the Nevada Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Cosmetic Demonstration
- Hair Braiding
- Hair Design
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Nevada State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Individual Licenses||Two Year $70
Four Year $140
|New Salon License||Two Year $215
Four Year $415
|Salon License Renewal||Two Year $200
Four Year $400
|Testing Fees||1st Attempt $125
2+ Attempts $75
|Duplicate License Fee||$25|
|Makeup Artist Registration||$25|
|Threading Establishment Registration||$25|
|Student Instructor License||$55|
|Provisional Instructor License (PIL)||$85|
|Initial Instructor License||Two Year $70
Four Year $140
|Shampoo Technology License||Two Year $50
Four Year $100
|Limited License||One Year $100|
Nevada Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Nevada by visiting license.nvcosmoboard.com. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
If you experienced unsafe and/or unsanitary services, the state board would like to hear from you. Please complete the online Consumer Complaint Form. If you received unlicensed services and/or you are aware of unlicensed activity, please complete the online Consumer Complaint Form.
If you are wishing to file a complaint based on the quality and/or design of the services provide, they will not be able to assist you. They are a health and safety regulatory board. These types of complaints are handled by the small claims court of your jurisdiction. The online form below is for individuals and/or salon owners that have had a complaint filed against them.
Before a Consumer Complaint Inspection can be performed, the complaint details are reviewed to determine whether the alleged violations are within the jurisdiction of the Board of Cosmetology. The Board of Cosmetology was enacted for consumer protection, not the art of styling. Therefore they cannot investigate complaints against the competency of an individual that delivered poor quality service unless the questionable competency (or disregard of proper procedures) lead to an injury.
Once a complaint has been determined to be within their jurisdiction a Consumer Complaint Inspection is performed and/or a letter notifying the individual or salon about the complaint is mailed. In the complaint notification letter, the individual or salon representative is provided a link to the Consumer Complaint Response Form. This form allows the individual or salon representative to respond to the filed Consumer Complaint.
The consumer complaint, the complaint response from the individual and/or salon representative, and the report results from the Consumer Complaint Inspection are reviewed. If no probable cause of the violation is found at the time of the inspection, the complaint will be closed. If probable cause is found at the time of the inspection, the individual and/or salon may be issued a violation and/or may be summoned to appear before the Board for an Administrative Law Hearing.
After a complaint investigation has been completed, a complaint status update will be provided by letter. It will be provided to the individual that filed the complaint and to the individual or salon representative that the complaint was filed against.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Nevada Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
The state board contact information listed below is for their Las Vegas office. They also have a Reno office. The contact information for that is:
Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
4600 Kietzke Lane, Building O, Suite 262
Reno, Nevada 89502
- State Board Office Location
Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
8945 West Russell Road Suite 100
Las Vegas, NV 89148
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology phone number 702-508-0015. Their fax number is 702-850-2418.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Nevada state board online by going to sites.google.com.