The New Jersey Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in NJ, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Office Type
Janice Alvarez Chairperson Professional
Frances Tomeo Vice Chairperson Professional
Angela Pantaleone - Professional
Maria Fontana - Professional
Jerry Speziale - Professional
Madeline Iannarone - Professional
Joseph R. Santagata - Public
Dr. John Ford - Public
Natasha Palmer - Government

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in New Jersey, check out the New Jersey Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Barbers
  • Beauticians
  • Cosmetology-Hairstylists
  • Manicurists
  • Skin Care Specialists
  • Teachers
  • Shops and Schools

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the New Jersey State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Application for examination fee
Application fee $50
Licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle $90
Licensing fee in the second year of a license cycle $45
Application for endorsement fee
Application fee $100
Licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle $90
Licensing fee in the second year of a license cycle $45
Salon Licensing
In the first year of a licensing cycle $350
In the second year of a licensing cycle $250
(Salon licenses renew every two years in July of even years)

New Jersey Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of New Jersey by visiting newjersey.mylicense.com. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

Few things are more frustrating than paying hard-earned money for a product or service only to discover it doesn't measure up to promises or expectations, or that it is just a plain rip-off. When that happens, consumers rightfully expect to have the problem resolved or their money returned. Even careful buyers get stuck now and then. If it happens to you, you will want to know how to proceed to get the best results.

First Contact the Business

Take your problem to the salesperson, manager or the company's customer service representative. Most problems are resolved at this level. If you are still not satisfied, contact the owner or the company's headquarters. If the business will not resolve a problem directly, consumers can file a Consumer Complaint with the Office of the Attorney General , the Better Business Bureau, or a small claims court. The complaint should explain in detail, with documentation (photocopies only, no originals), what the problem is, who it is with, what you have done and what you want. In particular it should:

Identify the Business

Include the name and current address of the business. An agency will not be able to help very much without the firm's current address.

Describe the Problem

Describe as completely as you can the problem with the product or service you have purchased. Were you told something that was untrue? Describe what you were told and how it was untrue. Is it defective? Explain what is wrong. Did the business refuse to honor a warranty? Explain what needs repair and include a photocopy of the warranty.

Explain What You Want

Explain what you want the business to do, how much money should be refunded or exactly how you want a product fixed or a service performed.

Include Photocopies

Always include photocopies of documents relevant to your complaint receipts, warranties, both sides of cancelled checks, contracts, etc. Do not send originals. Only send copies, except upon request of the agency to which you are making your complaint. Please be advised that any information you supply may be subject to public disclosure pursuant to New Jersey's Open Public Records Act. If an investigation into the matter is conducted, the information is subject to public disclosure only after the completion of the investigation. They urge you to not submit sensitive personal information on these forms online.

If you would like to file a consumer complaint, please use their ‚ÄčOnline Consumer Complaint Form or print-out and mail-in our General Consumer Complaint Form. If you are not sure if the Division of Consumer Affairs is the right place to file your complaint, call 973-504-6200. If you downloaded the complaint form and have filled it out, then the next step is to print out the document and mail it in to the following address:

Division of Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 45025
Newark, New Jersey 07101

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the New Jersey Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
    124 Halsey Street 6th Floor
    Newark, NJ 07101

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology phone number 201-504-6400 or 800-242-5846. Their fax number is 973-504-6477.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the New Jersey state board online by going to www.njconsumeraffairs.gov.