The Kansas Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in KS, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Position

David Yocum (Chair)

Cosmetology Profession Schools

Dave Tucker

Body Art
Kelly Robbins Tanning
Christine "Tina" Burgardt Licensed Cosmetologist
Kathryn Skepnek Licensed Cosmetologist
Ashley Rangel Licensed Esthetician
Kimberley Mancuso General Public

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Kansas, check out the Kansas Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Cosmetologist
  • Cosmetologist Technician
  • Electrologist
  • Esthetician
  • Manicurist
  • Facilities for the Cosmetology Professions
  • Instructors for the Cosmetology Professions
  • Schools for the Cosmetology Professions

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Kansas State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

License Fee

Cosmetologist license application fee

$60

Cosmetologist license renewal fee

$50
Electrologist license application fee $60
Electrologist license renewal fee $50
Manicurist license application fee $60
Manicurist license renewal fee $50
Esthetician license application fee $60
Esthetician license renewal fee $50
New salon or clinic application fee $60
Reciprocity application fee $75

Kansas Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Kansas by visiting www.kansas.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

  • Types of complaints reviewed by the Board
  • Unlicensed individuals and establishments
  • Health and sanitation violations
  • Fraud, False/Deceptive Advertising
  • Types of complaints not reviewed by the Board
  • Fee and price disputes
  • Poor customer service
  • Dissatisfaction with service provided
  • What the Board cannot do
  • Provide legal advice
  • Obtain monetary damages to compensate you or to resolve fee disputes, which are civil matters. If you are seeking reimbursement or damages, please consult an attorney
  • Impose criminal penalties. If you believe your allegations may constitute a crime, please contact your local law enforcement agency

All complaints must be received in writing on the Board complaint form. Anonymous complaints are not accepted. Complete the Board complaint form, provide the requested information, then sign the form. Attach copies of any documents which relate to the complaint and email, fax or mail it to the Board office. You may also request a Board complaint form by calling 785-296-3155 or by email at [email protected].

Will my complaint be confidential?

Your complaint will become a public record. In addition, a copy of the complaint may be sent to the licensee/individual who is the subject of the complaint. You may also be asked to complete a sworn affidavit and/or called on to produce evidence or testify regarding your allegations.

What happens next?

Upon receipt of your complaint, the Board will determine if your complaint comes under the Board's authority. You will receive a letter acknowledging receipt of your complaint. If the Board determines that your complaint is a possible violation of laws regulated by the Board, it will be investigated and you may be contacted for additional information. In some complaints we will determine that the matter should be closed, and in others, they will seek and may obtain discipline against the Respondent. If the complaint results in disciplinary action, the Respondent will have the opportunity to request a hearing. You may be asked to testify at the hearing.

How long will it take?

The Board endeavors to resolve all complaints promptly, some matters will take longer than others to resolve due to the nature and complexity of the complaint. To file a complaint please complete the Board complaint form. You may email the form or you may fax or mail the form per the information below.

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson, Suite 100
Topeka, Kansas 66603
Fax: 785-296-3002

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Kansas Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Kansas State Board of Cosmetology
    714 SW Jackson
    Topeka, KS 66617

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology phone number 785-296-3155. Their fax number is 785-296-3002.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Kansas state board online by going to www.kansas.gov.