The New Hampshire Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in NH, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics are listed below:
State Board Members
|Holly Rodrigues (Chair)||Manicuring Board Member|
|Jeanne Chappell||Cosmetology School Owner Board Member|
|Kimberly Hannon||Cosmetology Board Member|
|Joshua Craggy||Barber Board Member|
|Christine Infantine||Tanning Facility Owner Member|
|Kassie J. Dubois||Esthetician Board Member|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in New Hampshire, check out the New Hampshire Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Master Barber
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the New Hampshire State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Certificate of State Licensure||$20|
|Booth Rental Application Fee||$50|
|Booth Rental (2 year renewal)||$75 + If late $55 late fee|
|Tanning Facility Application Fee||$45|
|Ranning Facility Renewal||$45 + If late $55 late fee|
|Shop Application Application Fee||$60|
|Shop (2 year renewal)||$100 + If late $55 late fee|
|Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics
or Manicuring License Application Fee
New Hampshire Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of New Hampshire by visiting nhlicenses.nh.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
To file a complaint, write a brief description of the issues encountered and include:
- The work the licensee was hired to perform, include dates
- The location of the project
- The problems encountered
- A list of witnesses if applicable
- Attach all relevant documentation such as contracts, plans, maps, letters, reports. Failure to include all relevant documentation may delay review of your complaint
New Hampshire law does not grant the Board authority or jurisdiction over civil matters. The Board's jurisdiction is limited. The licensing boards do not have the authority to recover funds, award damages, or make judicial determinations. To pursue these types of remedies, you should seek legal advice. The Boards can only impose disciplinary sanctions against a licensed professional found to have violated New Hampshire Laws or Administrative Rules.
To file a complaint, you may download the complaint form online or you may obtain a form by calling the Board office at 603-271-2219. Once you fill out the complaint form, send that and any supporting documentation to:
NH Office of Professional Licensure
Division of Technical Professions
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 201
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the New Hampshire Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the New Hampshire State Board of Cosmetology phone number 603-271-3608 or 603-271-2152. Their fax number is 603-271-3950.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the New Hampshire state board online by going to www.oplc.nh.gov.