The Virginia Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in VA, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
|Matthew D. Roberts||Nail Technician Member|
|Darrin R. Hill||Barber Member|
|Lonnie Quesenberry (Board Chair)||Cosmetologist Member|
|Margaret B. LaPierre (Board Vice Chair)||Esthetician Member|
|Tony Williams||Cosmetologist Member|
|Robert D. Jones, II||Barber Member|
|Josie R. Mace||Citizen Member|
|Anne R. McCaffrey||Citizen Member|
|Gilda Acosta||Tattoo/Body-Piercer Member|
|Daniella Tsamouras||Esthetician Member|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Virginia, check out the Virginia Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Nail Technician
- Wax Technician
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Virginia State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Fee Type||Amount Due (Up to 8/31/18)||Amount Due (Starting 9/1/18)||When Due|
|License by Endorsement||$75||$105||With application|
|Renewal||$75||$105||With renewal card prior to expiration date|
(Includes $75 renewal fee and $75 reinstatement fee)
(Includes $105 renewal fee and $105 reinstatement fee)
|With reinstatement application|
|Renewal||$130||$190||With renewal card prior to expiration date|
(Includes $130 renewal fee and $130 reinstatement fee)
(Includes $190 renewal fee and $190 reinstatement fee)
|With reinstatement application|
Virginia Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Virginia by visiting www.dpor.virginia.gov. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
Any report against a regulant for allegedly violating board statutes or regulations, in order to be investigated, must be made in writing and received by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) within three years of the act, omission, or occurrence giving rise to the alleged violation.
In cases where a regulant has materially and willfully misrepresented any information required by statute or regulations to be disclosed to a complainant, and the information so misrepresented is material to the establishment of the alleged violation, the filing may be made at any time within two years after discovery of the misrepresentation.What happens when you file
The report will be reviewed to determine whether a violation of board laws or regulations may have occurred. If the evidence suggests a probable violation of a law or board regulation, the Regulatory Programs and Compliance Section will attempt to resolve the issue informally or investigate further. You may be asked to provide additional information.
If an investigation supports probable cause that a violation occurred, the appropriate regulatory board may take disciplinary action to require remedial education, impose a fine, suspend or revoke the license, or fail to renew a license. If an investigation indicates the individual or business is not properly licensed, DPOR may take criminal action. You may be asked to appear at a disciplinary proceeding or in court to provide testimony for the case. If the investigation does not show probable cause that a violation occurred, the case will be closed.
DPOR considers all complaints important. The processing of your complaint form will be conducted in as timely a manner as possible. Many complaints, however, present an immediate threat to public safety and will be given priority. Below are the 2 options you have to fill out the complaint form.
- Click here to download the interactive complaint form. This allows you to enter information directly onto the fillable PDF, save to a personal computer for your records, and submit the completed form electronically by e-mail
- Click here to manually download a copy of the complaint form
If you decide to manually download the form, then once you are done filling it out you can email, fax or mail it in.
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Compliance and Investigations Division
Complaint Analysis & Resolution
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Virginia Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
9960 Maryland Drive Suite 102
Richmond, VA 23233
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology phone number 804-367-8509 or 804-367-8500. Their fax number is 866-245-9693.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Virginia state board online by going to www.dpor.virginia.gov.