The West Virginia Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in WV, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists are listed below:
State Board Members
|Sarah Hamrick (President)||Hurricane, WV|
|Michael Belcher (Vice President)||Charleston, WV|
|Susan Poveromo||Madison, WV|
|Melissa Delaney||Vienna, WV|
|Khuong Nguyen||Charles Town, WV|
|Justina Gabbert||Martinsburg, WV|
|Sean Stevens||Beckley, WV|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in West Virginia, check out the West Virginia Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the West Virginia State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|License Type||Fee||Annual Due Date|
|Initial Barber License||$35.00||-|
|Barber License Annual Renewal||$35||January 1st|
|Initial Cosmetologist License||$35||-|
|Cosmetologist Annual Renewal||$35||January 1st|
|Initial Nail Technician/Manicurist License||$35||-|
|Nail Technician/Manicurist Annual Renewal||$35||January 1st|
|Initial Aesthetician License||$35||-|
|Aesthetician Annual Renewal||$35||January 1st|
|Initial Shop License / Shop Opening Inspection (1 time fee)||$90||-|
|Shop Annual Renewal||$40||July 1st|
|Initial Booth Rental Certificate||$15||-|
|Booth Rental Annual Renewal||$15||July 1st|
|Initial Instructor License||$50||-|
|Instructor Annual Renewal||$50||January 1st|
|Student Registration Permit||$25||-|
|Reciprocity (Out-of-State License Transfer)||$100||-|
West Virginia Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of West Virginia by visiting epay.wvsto.com. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
Any individual may make a complaint to the Board concerning a licensee. The Board shall accept a complaint if the information includes: The alleged violation which prompted the complaint; name and address of the licensee against whom the complaint is lodged; the date the incident occurred; and the name or names of witnesses to the incident, if any. An investigation will be conducted to determine the validity of the allegation(s) contained in the complaint. You can download a copy of the complaint form by clicking here. You can mail your form to the address listed below or fax it.
WEST VIRGINIA STATE BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS
1201 Dunbar Avenue
Dunbar, WV 25064
Tel: 304-558-2924 Fax: 304-558-3450
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the West Virginia Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
1201 Dunbar Avenue
Dunbar, WV 25064
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology phone number 304-558-2924. Their fax number is 304-558-3450.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the West Virginia state board online by going to www.wvbbc.com.