The Washington Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in WA, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Washington Department of Licensing Cosmetology are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Position
Tina Evans (Chair) Vocational School
Victoria Kile (Vice Chair) Private School
Megan Pedersen Master Esthetician
Geri Merklin Cosmetologist
Jared Jones Valentine Barber
Leila Klein Manicurist
Shari Purves-Reiter Public Member
Joseph Bogart Hair Design

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Washington, check out the Washington Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Cosmetologist
  • Barber
  • Manicurist
  • Esthetician
  • Hair Design
  • Master Esthetician
  • Instructor

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Washington State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

License Type Get License Renew Lae Renew
Cosmetologist $25 $55 $110
Barber $25 $55 $110
Manicurist $25 $55 $110
Hair design $25 $55 $110
Esthetician $25 $55 $110
Master esthetics $25 $55 $110
Instructor $25 $55 $110
Salon/Shop $110 $110 $160
Mobile Unit $110 $110 $160
Personal Service $110 $110 $160
School $300 $300 $475
Reciprocity $50 n/a n/a
Miscellaneous fees
Duplicate (replacement) license $15
Salon/Shop, Personal Services, or Mobile Unit License Application
(Permanent Cosmetics)*
Salon/Shop, Personal Services, or Mobile Unit License renewal
(Permanent Cosmetics)*

*If you have an individual artist license and an artist shop location license to practice permanent cosmetics and an operator license, you may qualify for a reduced license fee for your salon shop license if it's at the same location as your artist shop location license. Contact us at 360.664.6626 or to see if you qualify.

Washington Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Washington by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Washington Department of Licensing Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

To download a copy of the Professional Licensing Support Services Complaint, click here. Attach all of the following:

  • A detailed explanation of your complaint, including dates, other parties involved, and a summary of any efforts you've already made to resolve the problem. Describe events in the order they occurred
  • Copies of all documents that relate to the complaint

Once you finished filling out the completed form and have copies of all the related documents, you can then either mail the information in or fax it. The information is below.

By fax: 360-664-2550

By mail:
Professional Licensing Support Services
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9026
Olympia WA 98507-9026

After you submit your complaint

They determine if the complaint falls within their legal authority. If it isn't covered by their laws, they will notify you. If it does fall within their authority, they may conduct an investigation. Their investigator will act as an impartial, fact-finding third party. During the investigation, they aren't representing you, us, or the service provider. The investigator may contact the person you filed your complaint against to ask for a response, and may give them a copy of your complaint. The length of time an investigation takes depends on current caseload and the complexity of the case.

They will then evaluate the information after they have gathered all the facts of your case. If the evidence doesn't show a violation of the laws, they will move to dismiss the case. If a violation has occurred, they may recommend a disciplinary action, such as a reprimand, fine, or license suspension. The person you filed the complaint against may request a hearing to dispute the decision. They will then notify you of the outcome of your complaint. If you have questions or issues about filing your complaint then you can call them at 360-664-6645.

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Washington Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Washington Department of Licensing Cosmetology
    405 Black Lake Blvd SW
    Olympia, WA 98502

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Washington State Board of Cosmetology phone number 360-664-6626. Their fax number is 360-664-2550.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Washington state board online by going to