The Vermont Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in VT, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists are listed below:

State Board Members

Joan Kavanaugh
Celeste Moulton
Randy Peace
Josephine Thomas
Judith Wernecke

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Vermont, check out the Vermont Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Barber
  • Cosmetologist
  • Esthetician
  • Manicurist

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Vermont State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Barber $110
Cosmetologist $110
Nail technician $110
Esthetician $110
Shop $330
School $330
Biennial renewal
Barber $130
Cosmetologist $130
Nail technician $130
Esthetician $130
Shop $25
School $330
Re-inspection $100

Vermont Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Vermont by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

You can file your complaint using the online form. To access the online complaint form, click here. You have the ability to file as a guest, a registered user or a licensee.

What happens after you file the complaint

The complaint is screened. The Office evaluates:

  • Whether the professional activity in question is within OPR's jurisdiction and
  • Whether the conduct described, if proven, would be actionable as unprofessional conduct

When a complaint meets the criteria above, a case is opened and assigned a number. Urgent dangers to the public health, safety, or welfare are flagged for summary proceedings. The Office notifies the complainant when a case has been opened or screened. The Office also notifies the subject of the complaint (called the "respondent"), except where there is an investigative reason not to. When appropriate, the Office often sends a copy of the complaint and requests a response.

An investigative team is assigned. The team includes a case manager, an investigator, a board member or advisor with expertise in the profession, and a prosecuting attorney. The case manager is a complainant's primary point of contact for updates on the status of an investigation.

The investigator ordinarily contacts the complainant, respondent, and other relevant witnesses. The investigator gathers written documentation, records, and evidence. Depending on the nature and complexity of a case, investigations may take six to nine months to complete. Findings are analyzed. The team reviews the investigator's findings and may request additional information or suggest additional avenues of inquiry.

A charging decision is made. Once the team is satisfied that the issue in question is understood, the prosecuting attorney determines whether to pursue disciplinary action by filing formal charges. Formal disciplinary charges ordinarily take five to ten months to resolve. The case is either closed or charged.

Where a case is closed without charges, the investigative details and identity of the respondent remain confidential, and a brief report is sent to the complainant, respondent, and relevant board. Where the prosecuting attorney files disciplinary charges, those charges and any subsequent proceedings, findings, and orders are public. Charges are adjudicated. Charges may be resolved by an agreement, called a stipulation, or may proceed to a hearing before the relevant board or before an administrative law officer.

A sanction may be imposed. The professional disciplinary process focuses on the competence, conduct, and fitness of a licensee to practice. If there is a finding of unprofessional conduct, available sanctions range from a warning, to practice supervision, to remedial coursework, to suspension for a period of time, to permanent revocation of a license. The Office does not have authority to order restitution to an aggrieved complainant. Complainants seeking restitution should consult an attorney, consult the Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General, or pursue a claim in small claims court.

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Vermont Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists
    89 Main St 3rd Floor
    Montepelier, VT 05620

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the Vermont State Board of Cosmetology phone number 802-828-1134 or 802-828-1505. Their fax number is 802-828-2465.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the Vermont state board online by going to