The South Dakota Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in SD, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission are listed below:

State Board Members

Member Position Location
Tammy Ugofsky President Yankton, SD
Lori Little Vice President Spearfish, SD
Crystal Carlson Secretary-Treasurer Beresford, SD
Debbie Pageler Public Member Sisseton, SD
Tami Stokes Cosmetologist Member Lead, SD

They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in South Dakota, check out the South Dakota Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:

  • Available License Categories
  • Cosmetology
  • Esthetician
  • Nail Technician
  • Cosmetology Theory
  • Esthetician Theory
  • Nail Technician Theory

If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the South Dakota State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.

Barber license application fee $100
Barber license fee $50
Barber license renewal fee $75
Barbershop inspection fee $125
Barbershop license application fee $50 + $10 per chair
Barbershop license renewal $50 + $10 per chair
Duplicate (replacement) license No Charge
Lapsed license renewal (less than three years) $75 + $12 per year of lapse
+ restoration fee $15
Transfer of License $150

South Dakota Cosmetology License Lookup

If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of South Dakota by visiting From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.

Filing a Complaint

Part of the duties of the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:

  • False advertisement
  • Violations of health
  • Deceptive statements
  • Sanitation regulations
  • Unlicensed person
  • Malpractice or incompetence

If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.

Any member of the public, a commission member or a commission inspector can file a complaint about licensees or businesses regulated by the Cosmetology Commission. If you suspect unlicensed activity or if you think the law has been violated by a licensed professional or a business, you can file a complaint with the Commission office. You should know:

  • Complaints must fall within the Commission's legal authority
  • Complaints cannot be kept confidential
  • Complaints must be filed in writing. (Download Complaint Form)
  • Complaints must clearly identify the problem in detail
  • As the complaining party, you must attach any pertinent documents or evidence to support the complaint

The Cosmetology Commission takes complaints against licensees seriously. A complaint is handled as soon as it is received by the Commission office staff, who will acknowledge its receipt. First, they make a determination on whether the alleged facts show a violation of existing laws or regulations. If it is determined that a violation of law or rule did occur, the complaint is referred to the Commission's Investigating Committee, which consists of the Commission Vice-President, the Executive Director, an Assistant Attorney General and a Cosmetology Inspector, for review.

The next step is that an investigation is started into the facts of the case. They will inform the licensee, conduct interviews and gather evidence. The committee reviews the gathered information and evidence and decides whether to negotiate a settlement, file a formal complaint or dismiss the case for lack of evidence. At any time during this procedure, a settlement may be reached. You will be informed of the committee's decision.

If a formal complaint is filed, the licensee is entitled to a formal hearing. Depending on the case, either a majority of the Cosmetology Commission or an administrative law judge hears the case. If the hearing is conducted by the Commission, a majority vote is required to dismiss, refuse, revoke or suspend a license. During this hearing both sides may present evidence and witnesses, and lawyers will be present. After the hearing, the licensee will be informed of the final decision (called Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law) by certified mail. The licensee has the right to appeal the decision to the circuit court and South Dakota Supreme Court.

Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.

If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the South Dakota Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.

  • State Board Office Location
  • South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
    221 W. Capitol Suite 101
    Pierre, SD 57501

  • State Board Office Phone
  • You can reach the office by calling the South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology phone number 605-773-6193. Their fax number is 605-773-7175.

  • State Board Website
  • You can acccess the South Dakota state board online by going to