The Oregon Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in OR, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Oregon Health Licensing Agency are listed below:
State Board Members
|Heidi Zuniga (Chair)||Springfield|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Oregon, check out the Oregon Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Facial Technology
- Hair Design
- Nail Technologist
- Natural Hair Care
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Oregon State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
|Applications||Certificate||$20||Per field of practice (barbering, esthetics, hair design, nail technology, natural hair care)|
|Applications||Certificate by reciprocity||$100||Per field of practice|
|Authorization||Original certification per field of practice||$25||Valid for two years|
|Authorization||To practice Original certification by reciprocity per field of practice||$45||Valid for two years|
|Authorization||To practice Renewal of certification per field of practice||$45||Valid for two years|
|Authorization||To practice Online renewal of certification per field of practice||$45||Valid for two years|
|Authorization||To practice Independent contractor registration (original and renewal)||$100||Valid for one year|
|Authorization||To practice Freelance authorization (original and renewal)||$100||Valid for one year|
|Authorization||to practice Facility license (original and renewal)||$110||Valid for one year|
|Examinations||Written field of practice exam||$35||Per field of practice (barbering, esthetics, hair design, nail technology)|
|Examinations||Oregon laws and rules exam||$35||Miscellaneous Affidavit of Licensure $50.00|
|Miscellaneous||Delinquency (renewing late) fee||$30||For each year in expired status up to three years|
|Miscellaneous||Replacement of certificate, license or registration||$25||For each field of practice|
|Miscellaneous||Nonsufficient funds (NSF)||$25||Check returned for payment|
|Service fees||Application packet||$10||Includes unofficial user-friendly copy of Oregon laws and rules|
Oregon Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Oregon by visiting elite.hlo.state.or.us. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Oregon Health Licensing Agency is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
If you want to file a complaint, then the next step is to download a copy of the HLO complaint form or obtain one in person at the state boards office in Salem. You will need to specify whom the complaint is against, the address and phone number(s) of the people involved, the details of the complaint, and the type of complaint, such as:
- Practicing or advertising without a license
- Violating practice standards
- Competency of services
Mail the completed form to:
Health License Office
1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Email firstname.lastname@example.org or in person.
After you submit your complaint form, HLO Regulatory Operations Division staff will review it to determine whether the practitioner has violated any Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) or Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR). If a violation is suspected, HLO staff will conduct an investigation. Investigations may include, but may not be limited to, obtaining documents, and interviewing those involved, including witnesses. Upon the conclusion of the investigation the volunteer citizen board representing the profession may review the specifics of the case.
Disciplinary action begins with a notice from the office, which states the alleged violation(s) and penalties. This information becomes a public record. Until a final order is issued, HLO staff will not disclose specific information related to any investigation. If information related to a complaint is requested, it must be made through a public records request. The public records request form is available online.
Disciplinary actions may include civil penalties, which may include, but aren't limited to, fines up to a maximum of $5,000, and suspension or revocation of a practitioner's authorization (license, certification or registration) to provide services. HLO may also require additional education to assist the license holder with compliance issues, or any combination of the sanctions listed.
They ask you to be patient during the complaint investigation and resolution. Because of the office's complaint caseload, the thoroughness they go through may take as long as several months or longer. However, they make every effort to resolve complaints as quickly as possible.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Oregon Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Oregon Health Licensing Agency
1430 Tandem Ave. NE Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology phone number 503-378-8667. Their fax number is 503-370-9004.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Oregon state board online by going to www.oregon.gov.