The Wyoming Board Of Cosmetology is in charge of enforcing laws and regulations through inspections, investigation into complaints submitted by consumers and conducts hearings, imposes penalties and enforces actions when they deem necessary. Through education and the enforcement of the cosmetology laws in WY, the state board ensures the safety, welfare and public health by regulating the salons, schools and individuals who practice cosmetology. The list of the board members who are part of the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology are listed below:
State Board Members
|Tregay "Pinky" Chesser||Secretary/Treasurer||Wheatland|
|Brenda Schwartzkopf||Vice President||Saratoga|
They also issue licenses for to individuals who qualify for reciprocity or through the state boards administration of a written and practical examination to schools and salons. To find out how to apply for a new license, renew an existing one or find out how many hours for cosmetology license in Wyoming, check out the Wyoming Cosmetology License page for additional information. The list of categories the state board issues licenses for are below:
- Available License Categories
- Hair Stylists
- Nail Technicians
- Independent Contractors
If you need to obtain a cosmetology license, renew an existing one, or want to open up a salon or go to school, then in most cases there are fees involved. We list all available fees for this state below. We recommend to call the Wyoming State Board Of Cosmetology if you cannot find the fee information you are looking for below, or if you need to know how to pay your fees and what type of payments they accept.
||$48 per year|
|Independent Contractor License||$75 per year|
|Salon License||$75 per year|
|School License||$200 per year|
|Salon/School Late Fee (Up to 30 days)||$20|
|Salon/School Late Fee (Up to 60 days)||$40|
|Salon/School Late Fee (Up to 90 days)||$60|
|Temporary Location License||$75|
|License Application Packet||$7.50|
|Retake Single Phase or Theory Exam Only||$60|
|Mailing List of Names (30 names or 1 page)||$2 per page|
|Mailing List of Names/Labels (30 names or 1 page)||$3 per page|
Wyoming Cosmetology License Lookup
If you are planning to setup an appointment with a local salon, it is recommended that you first verify the professional or business license. You can do that online for the state of Wyoming by visiting wyboc.glsuite.us. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record. This will allow you to make an informed decision about the person and or business providing your service.
Filing a Complaint
Part of the duties of the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology is receiving and investigating consumer complaints involving unlawful acts which may include:
- False advertisement
- Violations of health
- Deceptive statements
- Sanitation regulations
- Unlicensed person
- Malpractice or incompetence
If you feel like you have experienced one of these issues listed above, or have information about a specific incident, then you would need to submit your complaint. If you have issues or questions about the complaint process outlined below, then it is recommended you contact the state board for assistance.
This Board is charged with administrations and enforcement of the Cosmetology Act. They investigate complaints alleging unlawful acts including false advertising, deceptive statements, violations of health and sanitation regulations, employment of unlicensed persons for professional services, incompetence and/or malpractice. If you have any information about a specific incident or alleged violation, contact the Board office for a complaint form.
All complaints must be in writing on an approved Complaint Form. Complaints involving allegations which are not within the jurisdiction of this Board may be referred to other agencies which may be better able to assist the complaintant. Anonymous complaints cannot be accepted. All Complaints must be signed and notarized by the complaintant.
An assigned Investigative Board Committee, Investigative Board Member or specially assigned investigator along with the Committee/Member who act as an impartial, fact finding third party will investigate the allegation(s). They may provide a copy of the signed and notarized complaint form to the licensed agent whom a complaint has been filed, so that the licensee may respond to the complaint allegations. After the investigation is complete, the Investigative Board Committee/Member make a recommendation to proceed with disciplinary action or dismiss the complaint.
To download the complaint form, click here.
Here are some tips on preparing your complaint. Make a list of things you want to say. Try your best to separate your feelings from the facts. Present the events in the order of which they happened, use dates and times if possible. When submitting your complaint, please make sure to provide copies of documents, for example contracts, letters, advertisements, sakes slips, cancelled checks, warranties and any other documentation that can support your claim. Only provide copies, keep the original copies for your own record. Please remember, the complaint should describe the event or practice which misled you. If you can, please also state why the practice was misleading.
If you still have questions or issues about your complaint or about cosmetology, then use the contact information listed below. We provide the Wyoming Board Of Cosmetology phone number, office address and how to access their departments website.
- State Board Office Location
Wyoming Board of Cosmetology
2515 Warren Avenue Suite 302
Cheyenne, WY 82002
- State Board Office Phone
You can reach the office by calling the Wyoming State Board of Cosmetology phone number 307-777-3534. Their fax number is 307-777-3681.
- State Board Website
You can acccess the Wyoming state board online by going to cosmetology.wy.gov.