Texas Cosmetology License Requirements
Below are the requirements on how to get a Texas cosmetology license, renew your license or if you need to transfer your cosmetology license in Texas to a different state. If you have questions or issues about these requirements for cosmetology, you can contact the Texas state board of cosmetology.
Apply For Texas Cosmetology License
Must be at least 17 years of age and must have a high school diploma or GED.
Texas Cosmetology School Hours
|Cosmetologist License||1500 Hours (operator License)|
|Barber License||1500 Hours (class A)|
|Esthetician License||750 Hours|
|Nail Technician License||600 Hours|
|Electrologist License||Contact State Health & Human Services (888-963-7111)|
|Cosmetology Instructor License||Operator License + 750 Hours Or 1 Year Work Experience + 500 Hours|
|Massage Therapist License||500 Hours|
Texas Cosmetology License Renewal
Texas requires you to renew your license every 2 years by the date of your original licensure. The cost to renew your license is $50. Barbers are $55 to renew. Cosmetologists, manicurists and estheticians under the cosmetology statutes are required to take 4 hours of continuing education during their licensure period unless their license expired prior to September 1, 2012 when the requirement was still 6 hours of continuing education. The barber statute licenses do not require continuing education to renew licenses.
Texas Cosmetology License Reciprocity
Texas does have reciprocity with certain states. Reciprocity and transfer is largely based on whether your home state has equivalent or greater education and testing requirements. There is no reciprocity with Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania or Puerto Rico. You would need to contact the Texas board of cosmetology about whether special exams or additional training hours are required if you are from one of those states. The cost to transfer your license to Texas is $100.