The Texas cosmetology license requirements. If you are trying to obtain a license for barber, barber technician, cosmetologist, manicurist or facial specialist in Texas students must complete the requirements listed below set by the Texas Board of Cosmetology. If you cannot find the information you are looking for on this page then we suggest to contact the state board of cosmetology. They can help answer general questions about applying for an Texas cosmetology license.
Texas Cosmetology License Requirements
Must be at least 17 years of age and must have a high school diploma or G.E.D.
Texas Beauty School Hours
Cosmetologist License: 1500 Hours (operator License)
Barber License: 1500 Hours (class A)
Esthetician License: 750 Hours
Nail Technician License: 600 Hours
Electrologist License: Contact State Health & Human Services (888-963-7111)
Cosmetology Instructor License: Operator License + 750 Hours Or 1 Year Work Experience + 500 Hours
Massage Therapist License: 500 Hours
Texas Cosmetology License Renewal
Texas requires you to renew your license every 2 years by the date of your original licensure. The cost to renew your license is $50. Barbers are $55 to renew. Cosmetologists, manicurists and estheticians under the cosmetology statutes are required to take 4 hours of continuing education during their licensure period unless their license expired prior to September 1, 2012 when the requirement was still 6 hours of continuing education. The barber statute licenses do not require continuing education to renew licenses.
Texas Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Change or Transfer)
Texas does have reciprocity with certain states. Reciprocity and transfer is largely based on whether your home state has equivalent or greater education and testing requirements. There is no reciprocity with Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania or Puerto Rico. You would need to contact the Texas board of cosmetology about whether special exams or additional training hours are required if you are from one of those states. The cost to transfer your license to Texas is $100.